New Year, New You (Me)

It’s a new year and what have we done so far?┬áMaybe we went to church, or we had a lime (party) but have we given the praise that is due to God? Yesterday I was reading The Daily Bread and do you know what the reading was? It spoke about giving thanks to God for his steadfast love endures forever.

Throughout the assigned passage this phrase was repeated each verse.
It made me realise that I don’t give thanks to God all the time. A prayer I always say is that we should praise in the good times and the bad times. I’ve said it so many times but I never actually done it. When I’m suffering I turn to self and not to God. It’s something that needs to stop because frankly how can I pray one thing, declaring to put my trust in the Lord and then distance myself from God when the going gets tough? It’s plain wrong. In my (our) suffering I (we) should be thanking God because my (our) suffering is something that God, if not myself (ourselves), know(s) that I (we) can overcome. This rocky part of our lives is supposed to toughen us up so that we can emerge stronger than we were before.

image

His grace is unending and he loves us with an incomparable love. He loved us so much that he gave his Son to die for us so that we may live eternally. His love is something we should not abuse or take for granted.┬áHe loves us despite our sinful ways. He loves us even when we don’t love ourselves.  He loves us when we don’t like others. Like any other parent he wants the best for us but he gave us a will and our will should be what God wants for us but our souls are weak and we fall prey to the desires of the world.

image

What else are you going to do today? Live life day by day? Or live life for God. I know I want to live for God. I’m still struggling in my journey but if I put my trust in him and seek earnestly to do his will I know I will be rewarded when he deems fit.

Lord, help me today to become a better me. A new me. Help me to grow in you and to love you more. Lord, create in me a clean heart and renew a right spirit within me. Help me to thank you when times are good and even when times are rough. Amen.

Comment... you know you want to.

