Once Upon A Time

One upon a time,
I thought you were cool,
You were new, and humble
And had a nice smile.

Once upon a time,
I thought we were friends,
Two feathers of a bird,
Two birds of the same kind.

A long, long time ago,
We were inseparable:
Joined at the hip,
Always barked but never bit.

Then I fell off the ladder,
And you kept climbing up,
Struggling to reach the top,
To that desired hotspot.

Not a single thought about me,
If I was okay?
Just a “Don’t get hurt, ‘kay.”
After I landed from my fall.

That was the last straw,
And not from the glass cup
My last length of thread
Gone with all the reason I had left.

I wouldn’t put up with any more,
Ever since I walked through that door,
Then, I had my mind made up
No longer putting up with this anymore.

Now it’s my turn to shine
I’m gonna step into the limelight,
Show them what I can do
Show them my tricks and moves

It’s obvious that they’ll want me
Just like they wanted my best friend
But I’m not gonna let that happen
It’s gonna be me against the world

I’ll do what I can
I’ll be my own woman
And even though my life won’t just be ‘fine’
I’ll strive to make it better than that Once Upon A Time

One thought on “Once Upon A Time

Comment... you know you want to.

